Skip to content

Ears to hear

January 29, 2012

It’s an incredible thing when you (start to) learn how to listen to yourself. It’s so simple but seems that it’s becoming increasingly rare across the board. So many distractions, so many things pulling you in twelve different directions, so many screens to look at. Maybe we can just call that my 2012 resolution, to learn to listen to my self. Those who have ears should hear.. I think I’ve generally tricked myself into believing I knew what the hell I was doing and it’s now that I’m pushing 30 and finally made one huge life choice –– to marry my incredible wife –– that my head and heart have started to open up. And I don’t mean that I’m extra weepy or feely or want to rub anyone’s shoulders, just that I can feel a change in the way I’m perceiving myself and the world as I never have before. It’s not in a selfish way, not in a coddled you-can-be-anything-you-want-even-the-president way that so many parents urge their kids. It’s just the simplest yet most difficult way of listening. The tiniest ray of light but it feels incredible.

And on that note, here’s round one of a tattoo started by Ron Wells the other week at Three Kings. I wimped out big time and had to quit after the outline. Originally, I was thinking it might be a bit bigger and, to be honest, kind of glad it’s not. Fits right in there. Hopefully, we’ll finish this bad boy up in Philly in a couple weeks. Thanks, Ron, sorry to be such a puss-puss.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

