Skip to content

Nobody love me

July 25, 2011

Of course, after I make my “Let’s see if I can stick with this blog thing” statement, I’m already asking myself what the point is. I should probably be focusing on my job and the wedding and training myself to be fiscally responsible instead of adding to all the self-aggrandizement that the Internet encourages. It’s actually kind of awful. So here’s some more garbage while I can still stomach adding to the noise.

Anyway, it’s hard to focus on anything in this here temporal world since I’ve started into Joseph Campbell’s The Power of Myth. I’m pretty ashamed it’s taken me this long to get to it. Other than English, religion classes were my favorite in college and I always said if I went back to school, it’d be for some sort of comparative religion/mythology degree. Well, that was Campbell’s specialty. It’s hard for me to really discuss the book yet, which is really just an abbreviated transcript of his talks with Bill Moyers from the PBS documentaries of the same name, but Campbell’s ability to weave multiple mythologies together in the scope of religion and psychological archetypes throughout human existence is… pretty great. To say the absolute least. It’s astounding and terrifying and I think it is an epic failure of our modern society that we’ve lost just about every aspect of our human experience: the ritual, spirituality and human understanding that is gained through mythology. Could be the epic failure and it’s a failure of our religious institutions to teach as if spirituality were a simple math equation. Anyway. As soon as I’m done, I plan to re-read it. I already want to buy this book for at least three people I can think of, but if you’ve got any interest at all, I can’t recommend it highly enough.

On to a ritual in its own right, got a fun little tattoo from good guy Andy Perez on Friday. Wanted a stinker skunk and then saw this little variation of it, and couldn’t resist. Thanks a ton, Andy! Click on that link and you can also check out a killer bass tattoo he did on Mr. Swan that same night. I think getting tattooed when you turn 18 is about as close to a ritual of entering adulthood as we’ll get. At least I never sought out gangs for that purpose.

MAN, what started as a nice little post is now long, sobering and a little heavy! I make no apologies. Since we’re on the topic of mythology, I suppose I’ll share this buffalo tattooed a few weeks ago by the exceedingly talented and all-around good guy Bailey H. Robinson. Click on that link, check out his work.

Buffalo tattoo. I’ve always been enamored with the big guys and have wanted a buffalo tattoo on me for as long as I can remember, especially after doing some reading recently, specifically Blackfoot Lodge Tales by George Bird Grinnell and John C. Ewers’ The Blackfeet. We’ll finish this guy and skull in a few weeks. Thanks Bailey.

And then on Saturday I bought a tux and my first actual suit, all before 2pm. It’s a nice lesson in how to go broke before lunch. But what’s money anyway…?

Thanks for reading, hope you all don’t go cry in your beers now, though if its for the land and the buffalo, I guess I can excuse it this once.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

