Skip to content

The Eighty-Five Cent Dinner

July 7, 2010

Because you can never have too many Raymond Chandler/Phillip Marlowe quotes. C’mon.

“The eighty-five cent dinner tasted like a discarded mail bag and was served to me by a waiter who looked as if he would slug me for a quarter, cut my throat for six bits, and bury me at sea in a barrel of concrete for a dollar and a half, plus tax.” – pg. 242

“A lovely old woman. I liked being with her. I liked getting her drunk for my own sordid purposes. I was a swell guy. I enjoyed being me.” – pg. 34

“I filled a pipe and reached for the packet of paper matches. I lit the pipe carefully. She watched that with approval. Pipe smokers were solid men. She was going to be disappointed in me.” – pg. 88.

“‘You’re not going to turn out to be one of those drunken detectives, are you?’ she asked anxiously.

‘Why not? They always solve their cases and they never even sweat. Get on with the story.'” – pg 93

“It was a blonde. A blonde to make a bishop kick a hole in a stained glass window.” -pg. 93

“The house itself was not so much. It was smaller than Buckingham Palace, rather grey for California, and probably had fewer windows than the Chrysler Building.” – pg. 122

“She gave me a smile I could feel in my hip pocket.” – pg. 124

“He was so polite I wanted to carry him out of the room just to show my appreciation.” – pg. 125

“She shrugged her pale blue shoulders. I tried to keep my eyes where they belonged.” – pg. 128

“I think I went to sleep, just like that, with a bloody face on the table, and a thin beautiful devil with my gun in his hand watching me and smiling.” – pg. 157

“Inside was a long dark hallway that had been mopped the day McKinely was inaugurated.” – pg. 219

“‘A guy can’t stay honest if he wants to,’ Hemingway said. ‘That’s what’s the matter with this country. He gets chiseled out of his pants if he does. You gotta play the game dirty or you don’t eat.'” – pg. 232

“I needed a drink, I needed a lot of life insurance, I needed a vacation, I needed a home in the country. What I had was a coat, a hat and a gun. I put them on and went out of the room.” – pg. 238

“All she did was take her hand out of her bag, with a gun in it. All she did was point it at me and smile. All I did was nothing.” – pg. 281

“‘Everybody bats you over the head and chokes you and smacks your jaw and fills you with morphine, but you just keep right on hitting between tackle and end until they’re all worn out. What makes you so wonderful?'” – pg. 288

*Page numbers taken from the ’92 First Vintage Crime/Black Lizard Edition.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

