Skip to content

Crossed fingers, busy bodies

January 21, 2010

I can’t quite figure out what it is about blogs. I guess the same goes for most things internet (facebook, myspace, flickr, msg boards); this need to self-publish, self-proclaim, a kind of deep-rooted aggrandizing that goes hand-in-hand with The Internet. I’ve always felt a little funny about it, a little sheepish for being part of the whole mess, and just wanted to explain what this blog is about, at least clear my head on paper (er, screen) so I don’t feel so selfish or self-righteous every time I write a post about ME ME ME.

Originally, this started as a place to put up any writing I happened to do. Now I have this, which works out just fine. Eventually, I’ll get a few more things up, try to get some variety on the site, and maybe swap the photo with one that doesn’t look like a shot for a singles tattoo-based website –– which is not to say Nick James didn’t do a stellar job, it’s just my stupid face and crossed arms tend to ruin a lot of photos.

Anyway, I figured I’d keep Gouge around just to have as a place for friends and family to check up on me. Kind of like a journal, only less angsty and a bit more open to the few that stumble upon it due to searches or the occasional link I throw up on the facespace. Which I’ve stopped doing. All of this is to say, there’s no reason I need this damn thing, but I’m gonna keep it around for two reasons. The first is that I know a small handful of you actually check this thing. The second, is that because it’s mostly for me, in a weird way, it kinda spurs me to get my shit in order.  Like I can’t mention this interview or that interview without actually having to come through on it. You get me?

Anyway, I suppose that’s it. The only news is the move next weekend and our apt. is quickly filling with boxes. I haven’t written much of anything in a while, which is okay, since I’ve been pretty busy with the day job(s). And I’ve started up taking fiddle lessons once a week at the IAC in the city. It’s super basic and pretty awesome so far –– let you know if I can keep it going. Also, Andy Perez is tattooing Thurs-Sat at 8 of Swords here in W’burg, so come get tattooed by him. He’s doing sheets of mini-flash that are lookin’ pretty sick. Sick like, neat. Not like AIDS. Thanks for reading, fools.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

